The Summit

Accomplishing a huge goal might just be my favorite feeling of all time.

Day 34 – 36 of Unemployment:Β  After over a month of misery, I GOT A JOB!!!!! *balloons and noisemakers* I know that in the grand scheme of things, I was barely unemployed, and for that, I am truly grateful.

I feel so incredibly proud of myself. I had my second interview on Wednesday, and not even 24 hours later, I received a call saying that the job was mine if I was still interested. They didn’t even speak to all of my references πŸ™‚ I am happy to have made such a great impression.Image I swore to myself that if at all possible, I would be employed by August 3 (when my severance ended) and that I wouldn’t have to collect unemployment benefits. I feel so accomplished that I managed to do so. I meet with the vice president of the board to sign my offer on Monday πŸ™‚

To celebrate, I went to the same bar, Rye, that I went to when I wanted to drown my sorrows right after my layoff. It was so funny – the same bartender was there, and he remembered me. Right before I left, I heard a voice ask me how unemployment was treating me – the same stranger who had sat to my left the first time I was there had come in again, and he, too, remembered me!! It felt so amazing to tell them both that I had just accepted a job offer.

I feel entirely too euphoric to write much, but I will end today’s entry by saying that I will continue to write in this blog…it will likely just be more positive. I really do feel like I just reached the peak of a mountain after a hard climb…at the risk of sounding childish – yay me! πŸ™‚

2 responses to “The Summit

  1. YAY!!!!! So happy for you. Glad you wrote about your experience. Rather cathartic wasn’t it? Is this the marketing position? Tell us about your job. Somebody hired a talented, wonderful person. Love.

Leave a comment